More finds and the Love of the Thrift

Yes there’s more 🙂

Gorgeous Lapis maxi skirt with a handkerchief bottom.  I was shocked to find this as Lapis is sold at Anthropologie stores.  I’m double excited to wear this as I had gained weight and it no longer fit, but…I lost some weight and it fits again!

Gorgeous velvet and lace

Gorgeous velvet and lace

Adorable Nanette Lepore fabric tote.  it has a metal zipper on the outside pocket.  Manhattan Salvation Army.

Fabric tote

Fabric tote

I love this sweater coat by, love this name “Sleeping on Snow” also sold at Anthropologie stores.  This item is for sale, size Medium.  It is 3/4 sleeve and perfect for Fall !  Another Manhattan find.

Sleeping on Snow

Sleeping on Snow

I wish I could get explain the thrill of the thrift for me.  I grew up going to yard sales with my Grandfather.  Our Mom would be working on a Saturday and he would take my sister and I on the ferry (back in the day you could drive your car onto the ferry).  We would arrive in downtown Manhattan and Grandpa would drive us to these small, old coin collector stores.  My sister and I never minded, it was an adventure to us.  We were young, probably 7 and 5 yrs old.

Other Saturday mornings and Sundays after church we would go to yard sales or flea markets.  That was the best.  My Grandparents were both “collectors” and it was fun to see which Avon bottle Grandpa found.  Grandma collected stamps, honestly I found that  boring, her things usually came in the mail or directly from the post office.

Anyway that’s where my love of the thrift comes from 🙂

3 comments on “More finds and the Love of the Thrift

  1. Wendy says:

    Being handed the paper on Saturday mornings and being asked “Where’s the first address?” and off we went! I loved going downtown to all those shops!!!

  2. BeingZhenya says:

    That coat you found is amazing! I am in love!

    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

Leave a comment